MCS-ICS  Medicinal Chemistry Section of the Israel Chemical Society  

MCS Awards and Prizes

The Barry Cohen Award:

This year's recipient of the Barry Cohen Award is Prof. Peter Seeberger from the Max Planck Institute (Germany)

This international prize, which is awarded annually by the MCS-ICS, became possible thanks to an endowment fund donated by Teva Pharmaceutical Industries in memory of Mr. Abraham (Barry) Cohen, a longstanding member of Teva's Board of Directors, who greatly contributed to the development of the company over more than 20 years, and passed away in 2012.

Former award recipients include:
Prof. Barry Trost (Stanford U.)
Prof. Paul A. Wender (Stanford U.)
Prof. Richard B. Silverman (Northwestern U.)
Prof. Brian K. Schoichet (UCSF)
Prof. Matthew D. Disney (Scripps)

The NCK Prize:

 This year's recipient of the NCK prize is Prof. David Margulies from the Weizmann Institute of Science.

NCK ( is a Danish research and drug-development company (founded in 1956) that is focused on organic chemistry syntheses at various synthetic scales.
Together with the ICS, the NCK prize will be given in alternating years to a young and to a well-established medicinal chemist, respectively.